What is Lutheran Worship?

Christ Centered

Lutheran worship is centered on the gospel (good news) that Jesus Christ is the world's Savior.  God demands perfect obedience to his law, which we as sinners could never achieve, but Jesus kept the law in our place.  He obeyed the law in our place and died the death that we deserved.  Through his life and death, we are forgiven and restored to God's family.   Jesus paid the price so that we can spend an eternity in heaven.

In worship, we seek to thank and praise God for his love.  We strive to declare the worth that he has in our lives.  We also gather in public worship to receive the Lord's Supper, to confess our sins and hear God's forgiveness, to sing and pray together.  Our presence in worship serves as an encouragement our fellow believers in the faith.   

    The various seasons of the church year
  • Lutheran worship follows a yearly pettern called the church year.  The church year allows for God's people to focus both on the life and teachings of Christ each year.
    • Advent
      The church year begins with Advent at the end of November and spans the next four weeks before Christmas. Advent means “coming” and is a time of quiet reflection in preparation for the coming of Christmas and the coming of Christ at the end of the world.
    • Christmas
      For twelve days we celebrate the coming of God as a man to save us.
    • Epiphany
      Epiphany is a Greek word that means “appearing.” We remember the appearing of the star to the wise men, telling us that Christ is the Savior of all nations. We also see Christ appearing to his disciples, making himself known as the promised Savior as he begins his ministry.
    • Lent
      Lent is time for humble and solemn meditation on the seriousness of our sins and the depth of Christ’s love for us that he took those sins upon himself.
    • Easter
      The sorrow of Lent is broken by the triumphant celebration of Easter, the highest of holy days for Christians. We rejoice in the victory of the risen Christ over all of our enemies.
    • Pentecost
      The season of Pentecost begins 50 days after Easter and covers the remaining half of the church year. During Pentecost we focus on the teachings of Christ and their application to us.
    The significance of the different colors
    • White
      The color of purity, perfection, eternity, and joy. Used on festival days like Christmas and Easter.
    • Red
      The color of zeal (fire) and martyrdom (blood). Used on days when we focus on the power of the Holy Spirit in zealous and faithful believers.
    • Green
      The color of life, refreshment, regeneration. Used most during the Sundays after Pentecost to remind us of the growth of our faith and the church as we hear Christ’s teaching.
    • Purple
      The color of royalty, but also of sorrow and repentance. Used during Lent.
    • Black
      The color or mourning, humility, and death. Used on Good Friday.
    • Blue
      The color of hope and anticipation. Used during Advent.
By grace you have been saved, through faith--this is not from you, it is the gift of God-- not by works, so that no one can boast. ~ Ephesians 2: 8-9